LIE to ME


MY LOVE AFFAIR
January 27, 2009, 8:49 pm
Filed under: books, love | Tags: ,

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, is the first book i fell in love with. witty and often bitter Holden Caulfield, was so enlightening and entertaining. After reading this book i decided that maybe teachers weren’t using books as a weapon of torture. Books became my escape. unable to put a good book down, i often found myself falling asleep and waking with one on my chest. With my new found love, i was able to travel the world, experience new and exciting cultures, was introduced to new styles of writing and so much more. To this day i cannot walk into a bookstore or library without pausing for a moment and taking in its beauty. So many great minds gathering together on selves. every idea, philosophy, theory at my finger tips. it pains me so much that many people don’t share my love for reading. there’s so much to be discovered between book covers. how can we progress if we do not read? in order to write we must first learn to read, and by reading and writing we develop our speech.  if these arts are given up, all we shall know is the lazy language of Instant Messaging. WITH THAT SAID……
I’ve decided to write a short list of some of my favorite books. hopefully those of you who are not fond of reading will be brave and read a few. I’m sure you will not be disappointed!!! =) AND…
My fellow book lovers, PLEASE SUGGEST SOME MORE BOOKS SO I CAN ADD TO MY READING LIST!! THANKS!! 😀
[THE BOOKS ARE RANDOMLY LISTED]

  1. The Fountain Head by Ayn Rand
  2. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
  3. Anthem by Ayn Rand
  4. Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
  5. Nervous Conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga
  6. Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
  7. The Shack by William P. Young
  8. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger



4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If you like the book angels and demons…keep on the look out for the movie which comes out either april or may.

Comment by ellie

nice post
thxs

Comment by frizia roger

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen…totally fell in love with it! I have a long list actually…hmm maybe I’ll post the list in my blog next time. Tnx for dropping by my blog. =)

Comment by zsazsa

Your post is good, i love Nervous Conditions too, i studied it as part of my english degree at university. I can recommend off-hand My Antonia by Willa Cather and Foe by J.M.Coetzee. Wish you some happy reading!

Comment by Navjot




Leave a comment